My Grade 4 Sound Unit

Hello everyone! Welcome to my grade 4 sound unit! In this blog I’ll be talking about quite a few things. They are:

  • What is sound?
  • What are some of the properties of sound?
  • What are vibrations?
  • How does sound  travel?
  • what are vibrations?
  • What are pitch and volume?
  • How does the ear work?

What is sound?

Sound is made when something vibrates and makes molecules hit others until it reaches our ears where we hear it as sound.

Just because I can, here is the official definition of sound; “Sound is a travelling wave which is an oscillation of pressure transmitted through a solid, liquid, or gas, composed of frequencies within the range of hearing and of a level sufficiently strong to be heard, or the sensation stimulated in organs of hearing by such vibrations”.

What are four of the properties of sound?

  •  Sound travels
  • Sound can be reflected
  • Sound can be absorbed
  • Sound can be modified

How does sound travel?

Sound travels in waves. When a stone is dropped in a lake, ripples in the water travel outward until they hit shore. Think of the stone hitting the water as a sound being made, the ripples sound waves, and the shore our ears. That is how sound travels. I have done an experiment involving a tuning fork, water, and salt. First, I tapped the tuning fork on a hard surface and hovered it over the salt. the salt didn’t move. next, I did the same thing but this time I tapped the tuning fork on a hard surface multiple times. there was little movement. Finally, I did the same thing but this time I lightly touched the salt. The salt was literally jumping! Next I did the same thing but with water. there were similar results but instead of jumping it was just travelling outward. here are some videos:

 

Pt. 2

 How does the ear work?

Click HERE for a video.

What are vibrations?

Click HERE for a video.

Any thoughts?

I think I did a great job with my sound unit but I wish I was here for more of the fun.

By December 13, 2022.  No Comments on My Grade 4 Sound Unit  Science   

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *