My Grade 4 Light Unit

Hello everyone! Today I will be talking about my first grade 4 science unit, light!

  • First, we studied about natural and artificial light! Let me share some fun facts:
  • Natural light means light sources created by nature. Here are some examples:

Sun, stars, fireflies, and fire.

  • Artificial light means light created by us. Here are some examples:

Lightbulb, glowstick, oil lantern, and candle.

After that, I tested my hypothesis that light travels in straight lines. here is my experiment:

 

 

Next we studied about luminous and non luminous. Here are some fun facts:

  • Luminous means something makes its own light. Here are some examples:

Sun, stars, anglerfish, and fire.

  • Non luminous means something doesn’t make its own light; it needs some help. Here are some examples:

Moon, certain street signs, reflective clothes, and cinema screens.

 

 

After that, we studied how light reflects. Here is my experiment:

 

 

We also learned about transparent, translucent, and opaque. Here are some things I learnt:

  • Transparent means that a material is see through. here are some examples:

Glass, drinking water, and thin ice.

  • Translucent means that a material allows you to see through, but the image is not clear. here are some examples:

tinted car window, thin jelly, and murky swamp water.

  • Opaque means that it does not allow you to see through. Here are some examples:

brick wall, concrete pillar, lead pencil.

 

 

Finally, we learned about refraction. Light travels slower in water than air, so it refracts, or bends, the light. here is a picture of me working on this:

 

 

Reflection Of Learning

I love science so far! We have done so many different (and fun) science experiments! I would love to learn about EVERYTHING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

By November 2, 2022.  2 Comments on My Grade 4 Light Unit  Science   

2 Comments

  1. Amasing job Noa!

  2. Great job Noa!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *